Browsing FIFA Ballon d’Or

Luis Suarez Deserves the Ballon d’Or More Than Cristiano Ronaldo Does

Posted on 28 Oct, 2014, by in Soccer

The best footballer in the world during 2013 was Luis Suarez. That isn’t going to help him win the Ballon d’Or, as FIFA and Sepp Blatter won’t allow it. Cristiano Ronaldo doesn’t deserve to be named as the best for a second straight season, but that’s exactly what’s going to happen. More

Franck Ribery on Cristiano Ronaldo Not Deserving the FIFA Ballon d’Or

Posted on 21 Jan, 2014, by in Soccer

While it was pretty quiet on the Lionel Messi front after missing out on the Ballon d’Or for the first time in four years, Franck Ribery was a bit more disappointed that Cristiano Ronaldo, and not him, got to be awarded with the honor, and that Bayern Munich didn’t have as many players as he would like in the FIFA team of the year. More

Messi vs Ronaldo – Not Even Close Anymore

Posted on 8 Jan, 2013, by in Soccer

The debate over who’s better – Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo, might go on for quite some time, but when it comes to official individual awards, it’s pretty much a knockout win with no room for discussion. More

Lionel Messi, Best Player in the World, Not Cristiano Ronaldo

Posted on 7 Jan, 2013, by in Soccer

No surprises, not in FIFA’s biggest award. Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or for 2012, leaving Cristiano Ronaldo and Andres Iniesta behind to win his fourth consecutive award. More

FIFA Ballon d’Or – Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo or Andres Iniesta

Posted on 29 Nov, 2012, by in Soccer

No real surprise in the final, three-man shortlist FIFA have released regarding the potential winner of the 2012 Ballon d’Or award: Either Andres Iniesta, already the UEFA player of the year recipient and Lionel Messi from Barcelona or Cristiano Ronaldo from Real Madrid. More

Another FIFA Ballon d’Or for Lionel Messi

Posted on 10 Jan, 2012, by in Soccer

Lionel Messi added another award to his incredibly packed trophy cabinet, winning his third consecutive Ballon d’Or, further cementing his place, at least in the books as the record will show, as the greatest player in the world and this era. Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi finished 2nd and 3rd respectively, while Neymar picked up the Puskas award for 2011 goal of the year. More