College Football Playoff – Why Ohio State Will Beat Oregon & Win the National Championship

Urban Meyer

The Ohio State Buckeyes are going to beat the Oregon Ducks in the national championship game of the College Football playoff because Urban Meyer has two random things in his past going for him. These things always work, until they don’t.

What is it? Meyer coached Florida twice to the BCS national championship – in the 2006 season, beating Ohio State (the NCG was in 2007) and two years later in a win over Oklahoma. So what’s the thread between those wins with the Gators and his challenge now against Oregon?

There are two of them. One is the Heisman connection, and the other regarding the time spent between championship games for his rivals.

Ohio State will face quarterback Marcus Mariota, the Heisman winner for the 2014 season. The last two times Meyer’s team won the championship, it was also when facing Heisman winners: Troy Smith of Ohio State in 2006, and two years later Sam Bradford of Oklahoma.

And the years thing? Ohio State played against Florida in 2007 for the national title four years after their previous title game, beating Miami in that surprising 2003 Fiesta Bowl. Oklahoma played Florida in the 2009 NCG four years after getting routed by USC in the 2005 Orange Bowl.

So what’s the connection this time? Oregon played for the BCS national title four years ago, losing to Auburn in 2011.

Title to Ohio State confirmed.

Image: Source / Credit: mk1317