Most Euro Tournaments Won

The result of the Euro 2016 will determine whether France tie with Germany and Spain on the top of the winners list in European championships with three titles, or do Portugal become the 10th national side to win the trophy.

One time champions

  • USSR in 1960 (lost in the 1964, 1972 and 1988 finals)
  • Italy in 1968 (lost in the 2000 and 2012 finals)
  • Czech Republic in 1976 as Czechoslovakia (lost in the 1996 final)
  • Netherlands in 1988
  • Denmark in 1992
  • Greece in 2004

France – 2

Euro 2000 France

France have twice made it to the final of the European football championship, twice winning the title. In 1984, hosting the tournament, they swept through the group stage with wins against Denmark, Belgium (5-0) and Yugoslavia, before beating Portugal 3-2 in extra time, in what many regard as the best Euro match ever. In the final, playing against Spain, France won with goals from Michel Platini and Bruno Bellone.

In 2000, with the tournament held in Belgium and Netherlands, the defending World champions were triumphant once more. France beat Denmark and the Czech Republic before losing to the Dutch in the group stage finale, beat Spain in the quarter final 2-1, beat Portugal 2-1 with a golden goal penalty by Zinedine Zidane in the semi final, and in the final of the tournament were triumphant against Italy, winning on a golden goal by David Trezeguet.

Spain – 3

Euro 2012 Spain

In 1964, hosting the tournament, Spain won their first major title, when it was just a four team affair. They beat Hungary 2-1 in extra time, before the final against the USSR, once again winning 2-1, the winner coming in the 84th minute by Marcelino.

In 2008, after a 44 year wait, Spain showcased a dominant side, sweeping the group stage with wins against Russia, Sweden and Greece. In the quarter final they beat Italy in a penalty shootout after 0-0 through 120 minutes, crushed Russia 3-0 in the semifinal, and beat Germany 1-0 in the final, with Fernando Torres scoring the only goal.

In 2012 Spain completed an unbelievable three major tournaments sweep with the World Cup sandwiched between Euros. After a 1-1 draw with Italy to open the tournament, they beat Ireland and Croatia. In the quarterfinal they beat France 2-0, and overcame Portugal in the semifinal with a penalty shootout following a 0-0 result in 120 minutes. In the final, against Italy once more, they won 4-0, with David Silva, Jordi Alba, Fernando Torres and Juan Mata scoring the goals.

Spain have lost one final, in 1984.

Germany – 3

Euro 1996 Germany

Germany won two of their tournaments as West Germany, as well as two of their three runner-up finishes.

In 1972, before winning the World Cup, West Germany beat Belgium 2-1 in the semifinal, before a 3-0 win over the USSR. Goals came from Gerd Müller (brace) and Herbert Wimmer.

In 1980, the West German team beat Czechoslovakia and the Netherlands in the group stage, before drawing against Greece. In the final (no semis at the time, group winners playing for the title), they beat Belgium 2-1, with a Horst Hrubesch brace.

In 1996, as a unified Germany for the first time in the European championship, they beat the Czech Republic and Russia before drawing with Italy. In the quarterfinals they beat Croatia, England in a memorable semifinal with a penalty shootout, and again the Czech Republic in the final. Oliver Bierhoff scored twice; once to send the match into extra time, and again as the first ever Golden Goal to win the title.

They’ve lost in three finals: 1976, 1992 and 2008.

Images: Source