NBA Players Who Can’t be Traded This Season

There are 21 players in the NBA who have either a negotiated or automatic no-trade clause in their contract, which means they cannot be traded this season unless they waive their right to block the trade.

This veto power is split into three groups: Players with a no-trade clause in their contract (usually big stars, franchise players),players who were restricted free agents, signed an offer sheet with a different team but the offer sheet was matched, and players who re-signed a one-year or 1+1 deal with their teams. Players who are playing on a qualifying offer are also under the no-trade restriction, but no one signed their qualifying offer this season.

Who has a negotiated no-trade clause?

LeBron James

  • Carmelo Anthony of the New York Knicks. Anthony has three more seasons on his deal with the Knicks, but there’s an early termination clause in 2018
  • LeBron James signed a three-year deal with a player option in season 3, and it has a no-trade clause
  • Dirk Nowitzki stayed with the Dallas Mavericks, signing a two-year deal worth $50 million, including a team option on season 2, and the usual no-trade clause which was there in the previous deals too

Offer Sheets Matched:

Allen Crabbe

  • Tyler Johnson stayed with Miami after signing an offer sheet with the Brooklyn Nets. He’ll make $50 million over four years (4th season player option) in a very backloaded contract
  • Allen Crabbe also signed an offer sheet with the Nets before staying in Portland. He’ll make $75 million over the next four seasons, including a 4th season player option

Re-signed players:

Manu Ginobili

  • Lou Amundson (Knicks): $1.5 million
  • Elton Brand (76ers): $1.5 million
  • Ian Clark (Warriors): $1.01 million
  • Alonzo Gee (Pelicans): $1.4 million
  • Manu Ginobili (Spurs): $14 million
  • Udonis Haslem (Heat): $4 million
  • Kris Humphries (Hawks): $4 million
  • Dahntay Jones (Cavaliers): $1.5 million
  • James Jones (Cavaliers): $1.5 million
  • James Michael McAdoo (Warriors): $980,000
  • Steve Novak (Bucks): $1.5 million
  • Marcus Thornton (Wizards): $1.3 million
  • Beno Udrih (Heat): $1.5 million
  • Anderson Varejao (Warriors): $1.5 million
  • Sasha Vujacic (Knicks): $1.4 million
  • Metta World Peace (Lakers): $1.5 million
Images: Source