Nebraska Cornhuskers – Sam Koch Keeping Super Bowl Streak Alive

Not all streaks have to do with titles and bowl game wins. Some of them are about turning young men into successful professional in the NFL. Nebraska breed winners, or something close to that it seems, sending at least one former player to the Super Bowl for the 20th straight year, represented by Baltimore Ravens punter Sam Koch.

So what’s more impressive? Penn State having at least one player in 42 of the 47 Super Bowls, or Nebraska’s streak? Nebraska is leading the current active streak by six years, with Notre Dame (two players on the San Francisco 49ers) and Purdue (Bernard Pollard for the Ravens) next with 14 years. Other schools with more than a 10 year streak of sending players to the Super Bowl: Ohio State (four players on the 49ers), LSU (one player on the 49ers), Georgia (three players on both teams) and Illinois (one player on the 49ers) with 12; Florida with 10 years in a row, with a player on each team, and Iowa, on a current streak of 10 years: two players on the Ravens’ roster.

As for chances of winning? They’re 9 of 19, which means Ravens are underdogs in this one.

1994 (Buffalo-Dallas): TE Nate Turner, Bills.
1995 (San Diego-San Francisco): DT John Parrella, Chargers.
1996 (Dallas-Pittsburgh): OG Brenden Stai and LB Donta Jones, Steelers.
1997 (Green Bay-New England): CB Tyrone Williams and RB Calvin Jones, Packers.
1998 (Denver-Green Bay): S Tony Veland and DE Neil Smith, Broncos; CB Tyrone Williams, Packers.
1999 (Atlanta-Denver): CB Michael Booker, Falcons; DE Neil Smith, Broncos.
2000 (Tennessee-St. Louis): LB Doug Colman, Titans; DE Grant Wistrom, Rams.
2001 (Baltimore-New York Giants): DT Christian Peter, Giants.
2002 (New England-St. Louis): DE Grant Wistrom, Rams.
2003 (Oakland-Tampa Bay): C Adam Treu, LB Eric Johnson and DT John Parrella, Raiders.
2004 (Carolina-New England): S Mike Minter, Panthers; OG Russ Hochstein and DE Mike Rucker, Patriots.
2005 (New England-Philadelphia): OG Russ Hochstein, Patriots.
2006 (Pittsburgh-Seattle): K Josh Brown and DE Grant Wistrom, Seahawks.
2007 (Chicago-Indianapolis): S Mike Brown, Bears.
2008 (New England-New York Giants): OG Russ Hochstein and DT Le Kevin Smith, Patriots.
2009 (Arizona-Pittsburgh): CB Ralph Brown, Cardinals.
2010 (Indianapolis-New Orleans): LB Cody Glenn, Colts; OG Carl Nicks and LB Scott Shanle, Saints.
2011 (Green Bay-Pittsburgh): RB Brandon Jackson, Packers.
2012 (New England-New York Giants): CB Prince Amukamara, Giants.
2013 (Baltimore-San Francisco): P Sam Koch, Ravens.

Image: Source