10 Players Nominated for the John R. Wooden Award

The shortlist of 10 players up for the John R. Wooden Award and the All-America team consist of three ACC players (Grayson Allen, Brice Johnson, Malcolm Brogdon), three Big 12 players (Perry Ellis, Buddy Hield, Georges Niang), two from the Big Ten (Yogi Ferrell, Denzel Valentine), one from the Big East (Kris Dunn) and one from the SEC (Tyler Ulis).

Grayson Allen, Duke

Grayson Allen

The Duke sophomore might not be the most popular of players outside of Durham, but in his second season with the Blue Devils he’s averaged 21.6 points per game while shooting 41.7% from beyond the arc. He’s already been selected to the All-ACC first team. The last Duke player to win the award is J.J. Redick in 2006.

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Malcolm Brogdon

The Virginia senior won the ACC player of the year award this season, made the conference first team for the third time and is an All-American from last season. He averaged 18.2 points per game in 2015-2016. Ralph Sampson, the only player to win the award twice (back to back) is the last Virginia player to claim it.

Kris Dunn, Providence

Kris Dunn

The Providence Junior averaged 16.4 points per game with 5.3 rebounds and 6.2 assists. He won the Big East defensive player of the year for a second time in a row, just like the Big East player of the year award and making the conference first team.

Perry Ellis, Kansas

PErry Ellis

An honorable mention as an All-American last season, Ellis made his second All-Big 12 first team this season and also First-team Academic All-Big 12. The Kansas senior averaged 16.9 points and 5.8 rebounds per game. Danny Manning in 1988 is the last Kansas player to win the award.

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Yogi Ferrell

Ferrell made his first Big Ten All-Defensive team and second All-Big Ten First team this season, averaging 17.3 points and 5.6 assists per game on his final college campaign. Calbert Cheany is the last Indiana player to win the award back in 1993.

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Buddy Hield

Hield, currently tearing it up in the NCAA Tournament, won the Big 12 player of the year award for the second time this season. The senior guard averaged 25.4 points and 5.7 rebounds so far before he plays in the Final Four. Blake Griffin in 2009 is the last Oklahoma player to win the award.

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Brice Johnson

Another senior, Johnson was in the All-ACC first team this season for the first time, and heading into his first and last Final Four, he’s averaging 17.1 points and 10.5 rebounds per game. Tyler Hansbrough in 2008 is the last UNC player to win the award.

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Georges Niang

The Iowa State senior forward averaging 20.5 points and 6.2 rebounds in his final collegiate year. A two-time All-Big 12 first team selection, he was also a third-team All-American in 2015.

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Tyler Ulis

Ulis averaged 17.3 points and 7 assists per game in his sophomore year in Lexington, winning the SEC player of the year award and SEC defensive player of the year. The last Kentucky player to win the award is Anthony Davis in 2012.

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Denzel Valentine

The MSU senior won the Big Ten player of the year in 2016 and also the conference tournament MOP award, averaging 19.2 points, 7.5 rebounds and 7.8 assists over the course of the season.