2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductees

Junior Seau

With the Super Bowl just around the corner, six players were announced as the latest inductees into the Pro Football hall of fame: Junior Seau, Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Tim Brown, Will Shields and Mick Tingelhoff.

On his first year of eligibility, the late Junior Seau was inducted into the hall of fame. Seau was found dead on May 2, 2012 with a gunshot wound to the chest without a suicide note. He was in the NFL from 1990 to 2009, playing for the San Diego Chargers (until 2002), Miami Dolphins (2003-2005) and New England Patriots (2006-2009), making 12 pro bowl selections, 8 All-Pro teams, named as the conference defensive player of the year three times and was part of the NFL’s 1990’s All-Decade team.

Running back Jerome Bettis, retired since 2005, also made it into the hall after a 13-year career with the St. Louis Rams (1993-1995) and mostly the Pittsburgh Steelers (1996-2005). He’s been to six Pro Bowls and two All-Pro teams, helping the Steelers win Super Bowl XL. He rushed for 13,662 yards in his career and scoring a total of 94 touchdowns.

Charles Haley, a winner of five Super Bowls with the San Francisco 49ers and the Dallas Cowboys was also among the inductees. The defensive end/linebacker played in the NFL from 1986 to 1999 for both teams (starting and finishing in San Francisco, having some very successful in between time in Dallas), winning two NFC defensive player of they year awards. He is a five-time Pro Bowler and two time All-Pro and is part of the 100 career sacks club.

Tim Brown

Wide receiver Tim Brown spent most of his career (1988-2003) with the Oakland Raiders and one final season with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Brown caught 1094 passes and finished with 14,934 receiving yards and just shy of 20,000 all purpose yards due to his returning duties, finishing with 105 career touchdowns. He finished with nine Pro Bowl selections and was a second team All-Pro selection twice.

Will Shields was the only offensive lineman selected this time. The big guard out of Fort Riley, Kansas played his entire career with the Kansas City Chiefs (1993-2006), making 12 Pro Bowl selections and seven different All-Pro teams. He was part of the NFL’s 2000’s All-Decade team.

Mick Tingelhoff was inducted through the senior committee. The 74-year old played center for the Minnesota Vikings from 1962 to 1978, which meant losing in four Super Bowls. He made the Pro Bowl six times and was named an All-Pro five times.

Images: Source