Last Time Each Team Won the World Series

Last Time Each Team Won the World Series

There are 8 teams in Major League Baseball without a World Series title. Of those with at least one championship, the two currently going through the longest droughts? Our 2016 World Series participants, the Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians.


Kansas City Royals, 2015: The Royals won the World Series for the second time in franchise history last season, beating the New York Mets in five games, as the MVP went to Salvador Perez. They failed to make the playoffs in 2016.

San Francisco Giants, 2014: The Giants beat the Royals in 2014 to win their 8th title and third in five seasons. They won the title in 7 games, winning 3-2 in Kansas City to clinch it, sending MVP Madison Bumgarner to get the save, pitching five innings in relief after two days of rest.

Boston Red Sox, 2013: The Red Sox won the World Series for the 8th time overall and a 3rd time in 10 seasons only 3 years ago, but they’ve failed to win a postseason game since. David Ortiz won the MVP as the Red Sox beat the St. Louis Cardinals in six games.

St. Louis Cardinals, 2011: The Cardinals won their second World Series in six seasons by beating the Texas Rangers in 7 games, winning the final two games, including an 11-inning game 6. David Freese won the MVP, as the Cards won World Series title number 11.

New York Yankees, 2009: The Yankees added to their impressive World Series collection seven years ago, winning number 27, and have since failed to do much in the postseason. Hideki Matsui won the MVP as the Yankees beat the Phillies 4-2 in the series.

Philadelphia Phillies, 2008: The Phillies ended a 28-year wait to win their second World Series in ’08, beating the Tampa Bay Rays 4-1, as Cole Hamels won the MVP. The Phillies made the World Series next season and lost to the Yankees.

Chicago White Sox, 2005: The White Sox swept the Houston Astros to win their 3rd WS title and first since 1917, with Jermaine Dye winning the MVP. They’ve made the playoffs just once (2008) since.

Miami Marlins, 2003: The Marlins were named the Florida Marlins when they won their World Series titles in 1997 and 2003. They beat the New York Yankees 4-2 in ’03, the MVP going to Josh Beckett. The Marlins haven’t made the postseason since.

Los Angeles Angels, 2002: They might not look it now, but the Angels were pretty good for a long stretch not too long ago. They won the World Series (their only one) in 2002, beating the San Francisco Giants in 7 games, with the famous win being in game 6, coming from the brink of elimination to erase a five run deficit. Troy Glaus won the MVP.

Arizona Diamondbacks, 2001: The Diamondbacks, only 3 years into existence, won the World Series by beating the New York Yankees in 7 games. Randy Johnson completed his masterpiece to win the MVP in game 7, as Arizona scored two runs in the ninth inning to come from behind and win the championship on a walk off hit by Luis Gonzalez. They haven’t been back.

Atlanta Braves, 1995: The Braves have 3 World Series titles: One in Boston, one in Milwaukee, one in Atlanta. In 1995, after losing in the WS twice (1991, 1992) and losing twice later (1996, 1999) the Braves did it by beating the Cleveland Indians 4-2 and Tom Glavine picking up the MVP.

Toronto Blue Jays, 1993: It took the Blue Jays over 20 years to get back into the playoffs after winning back-to-back World Series titles in the early 1990’s. In ’93 they beat the Phillies 4-2, with the MVP going to Paul Molitor.

Minnesota Twins, 1991: In ’91 the Twins beat the Atlanta Braves in 7 games to win the World Series for the third time, the previous one in 1987. Jack Morris won the MVP, who pitched all 10 innings in game 7, which the Twins won 1-0. The Twins haven’t been back to the World Series ever since.

Cincinnati Reds, 1990: The Reds won the world series for a fifth time in 1990, beating the Oakland A’s 4-0, as Jose Rijo took the MVP. They haven’t done much in the postseason since.

Oakland Athletics, 1989: The Athletics made the World Series three years in a row from 1988 through 1990, winning it just once, their ninth title in franchise history. They swept the San Francisco Giants, with the MVP going to Dave Stewart.

Los Angeles Dodgers, 1988: The Dodgers won their second World Series title of the 1980’s as they beat the Oakland A’s 4-1, with Orel Hershiser winning the MVP. The Dodgers haven’t been to the World Series since, despite winning the NL West for the last four years.

New York Mets, 1986: The Mets famously beat the Boston Red Sox in 7 games to take their second World Series title, as Ray Knight won the MVP, coming back from two games down in a series that included the famous Billy Buckner error. The Mets have lost in two World Series since: 2000 and 2015.

Detroit Tigers, 1984: The Tigers won World Series number 4 in ’84, beating the San Diego Padres 4-1, with Alan Trammell winning the MVP. The Tigers have been to the WS twice since, losing in 2006 and 2012.

Baltimore Orioles, 1983: The Orioles won their third World Series in 1983, which is also the last time they won the AL Pennant. Rick Dempsey won the MVP as the Orioles beat the Phillies 4-1, winning four in a row after losing game 1. The Orioles shutout Philly 5-0 in the clincher.

Pittsburgh Pirates, 1979: The Pirates beat the Orioles in 7 games to win their 5th World Series title, as the MVP went to the oldest one to date, Willie Stargell. The previous Pirates title came in 1971, also against the Orioles.

Cleveland Indians, 1948: The Indians won their second World Series in ’48, beating the Boston Braves (yes, it’s been that long) 4-2. They’ve made the World Series three more times before this year, including twice in the 1990s (1995 and 1997).

Chicago Cubs 1908 Photo

Chicago Cubs, 1908: One of the most famous numbers in sports, as the Cubs are now 108 years between World Series titles, with a shot at finally rectifying over a century of missing out on the big prize. They lost in 7 World Series appearances through 1945 following their last title, which was the second in franchise history. They went back to back in 07-08, beating the Tigers in 5 games to claim their last championship.

Never – Tampa Bay Rays, Houston Astros, Seattle Mariners, Texas Rangers, Washington Nationals, Milwaukee Brewers, Colorado Rockies, San Diego Padres.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.