Teams with Every European Club Competition Trophy

Teams with Every European Club Competition Trophy

With their 2-0 win over Ajax in Stockholm to claim the 2017 Europa League trophy, Manchester United expand the prestigious club of teams with at least one title in each of Europe’s club competitions: European Cup/Champions League, the defunct Cup Winners’ Cup, and the Europa League/UEFA Cup. Ajax, Bayern Munich, Chelsea and Juventus were already there.


Ajax 1995


Ajax haven’t won a European title since 1995. The club has four European Cup/Champions League trophies: 3 in a row in the early 1970’s (1971-1973) and one in 1995, famously beating AC Milan with a late Patrick Kluivert goal. Their Cup Winners Cup comes from 1987, with a Marco Van Basten goal beating Lokomotive Leipzig in the final. In 1992 they won the UEFA Cup, a two-leg final a the time. They overcame Torino thanks to away goals, drawing 2-2 in Italy and 0-0 at home.

Bayern Munich

Arjen Robben Clutch

Bayern Munich won the European Cup 3 times in a row following Ajax’s run, dominating the competition from 1974 to 1976. In 2001 they broke the long drought in the Champions League by beating Valencia in the final, two years after their “tragic” loss to Manchester United. In 2013, after losing in the 2012 final, Bayern Munich beat Dortmund to win it for a 5th time. The club has one Cup Winners Cup, beating Rangers 1-0 in extra time in 1967. In 1996 Bayern won the UEFA Cup for the first and only time, beating Bordeaux 5-1 on aggregate in the final.


Chelsea 2013 Europa League

While many treat Chelsea as a club with no history, their first European trophy dates back to 1971, beating Real Madrid in the Cup Winners Cup final 2-1 after 1-1 in the first match (there were replays at the time). They added their second Cup Winners Cup trophy in 1998, beating Stuttgart 1-0 with a Gianfranco Zola goal. In 2012 Chelsea won the Champions League, beating Bayern Munich in penalties in the final. A year later they won the Europa League with a dramatic win over Benfica in the final.


Juventus 1996 Champions

Like Ajax, Juventus haven’t won a European trophy in over 20 years. They are two time European Cup/Champions League winners. The first came in 1985, beating Liverpool 1-0 in Heysel. The second in 1996, beating Ajax after a penalty shootout. The club’s only Cup Winners Cup came in 1984, as they beat Porto 2-1 in the final. Juventus won three UEFA Cups: 1977 (beating Athletic Bilbao on away goals), 1990 (beating Fiorentina) and 1993 (crushing Dortmund in two legs).

Manchester United

Paul Pogba Celebrating

The most recent entrants into the prestigious club, Manchester United are 3-time European Cup/Champions League winners. Their first trophy came in 1968, beating Benfica 4-1 in the final. In 1999, they scored two injury time goals to pull off a stunning comeback against Bayern Munich and win 2-1. In 2008, they beat Chelsea after a penalty shootout. The club’s Cup Winners Cup came in 1991, the first European title for an English Club after their expulsion from all competitions in 1985. They beat Barcelona 2-1 with a brace from Mark Hughes. In 2017 they added the Europa League to the trophy room, beating Ajax 2-0.

Images: Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.