River Plate Beat Tigers – Copa Libertadores Champions, Finally After all These Years

Almost 20 years since River Plate last won the Copa Libertadores, and their cycle of coming back to the top of Argentine and South American football is complete, beating Tigres of Mexico 3-0 in the second leg of the final (0-0 in the first match) to win the title for a third time.

After a tense first half which meant almost 135 minutes without any goals for both sides, things opened up as Lucas Alario scored the first goal of the final. This was followed by goals from Carlos Andres Sanchez from the penalty spot in the 74th minute to make it quite clear the title was staying in Buenos Aires, and Ramiro Funes Mori completed the win with a third goal five minutes to the final whistle, setting off the celebrations at the Monumental.

This is the second year in a row and Argentine club wins the title, following San Lorenzo’s success last year. River Plate are now tied with Olimpia (Paraguay), Nacional (Uruguay), Sao Paulo and Santos (Brazil) with three titles in the competition each. It also means this is the 24th overall time a club from Argentina has won the title, seven more than Brazilian teams. This was the third time a Mexican team has lost in the final.

Image: Source
Image: Source