The History of the BCS National Championship Game in Pictures

    When LSU and Alabama face each other in the 2012 BCS National Championship Game, it’ll be the 14th time teams have played under the BCS’ much criticized format for the national title. As we’ve gotten used to these past few seasons, the SEC will boast the national champion, with an All-SEC final, which was probably the wrong decision.

    Should we get into the whole Oklahoma State thing again? Probably not. This happened in the past, with the wrong team making it into the big game, sometimes even winning (Florida, 2007). The one thing that we do know for sure is that the SEC will have a losing team in the national title game for the first time after seven perfect trips.

    1999 Fiesta Bowl

    January 4, 1999 – The first ever BCS title game was played at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Arizona. The Tennessee Volunteers won their first national title in 47 years, beating the Florida State Seminoles 23-16, finishing the season undefeated, going 12-0, and no.1 on all three rankings (BCS, coaches, AP). Peerless Price who caught one touchdown and Dwyane Goodrich, returning an interception for a touchdown, shared the MVP award.

    Image: Source

    2000 Sugar Bowl

    January 4, 2000 – The Florida State Seminoles reached their second straight national title game after an 11-0 season, ranked #1 from the preseason polls. Their opponents, Virginia Tech, with Michael Vick at quarterback, were the big surprise, boasting the no.3 defense in the nation, also arriving undefeated. The Seminoles won 46-29 in one of the best bowl games of all time, becoming the first team to remain at the #1 spot all through the season.Wide receiver Peter Warrick won the MVP, catching two touchdowns.

    2001 Orange Bowl

    January 3, 2001 – Florida State again, this time reaching the game as the no.2 team in the nation, playing the Oklahoma Sooners, reaching this game undefeated and as the no.1 team in the nation. A defensive battle, Bob Stoops’ men prevailed in a 13-2 win with only one touchdown scored in the game. Linebacker Tarrence Thomas won the MVP.

    Image: Source

    2002 Rose Bowl

    January 3, 2002 – When Miami and Nebraska met in Pasadena, it was only the third time in Rose Bowl history that neither a Big Ten or Pac-10 team was on the field to play, but the BCS changed things. Miami were the consensus #1, Nebraska were the controversial BCS computers pick despite not winning the Big 12 title. The Hurricanes ran all over the Huskers, winning the game 37-14, with quarterback Ken Dorsey and Wide Receiver Andre Johnson sharing the MVP honors.

    2003 Fiesta Bowl

    January 3, 2003 – Both the Miami Hurricanes, coached by Larry Coker, and the Ohio State Buckeyes, coached by Jim Tressel, reached Arizona undefeated. The ‘Canes were #1 in the nation and the defending champions, coming in as 11.5 points favorites. Ohio State won a double overtime game, not without its dubious moments and calls. Craig Krenzel (QB) and Mike Doss (Safety) won the MVP award.

    Image: Source

    2004 Sugar Bowl

    January 4, 2004 – The LSU Tigers, coached by Nick Saban, came into this game as the #2 team in the polls and the BCS. Oklahoma, with a one loss in the Big 12 title game, came as #1 in the BCS rankings but #3 in the human rankings, with USC getting the best part of the voting. Didn’t matter, and Bob Stoops team made it to Louisiana, losing to LSU 21-14. LSU running back Justin Vincent won the MVP.

    2005 Orange Bowl

    January 4, 2005 – Again Bob Stoops and the Oklahoma Sooners, coming in as the #2 team in the BCS rankings. USC, undefeated, came in as the #1 team in the nation, led by quarterback Matt Leinart, who won the MVP award as the Trojans destroyed Oklahoma 55-19. USC were later forced to vacate the win, and every other win they had with Reggie Bush playing.

    Image: Source

    2006 Rose Bowl

    January 4, 2006 – The last time that the national championship game rotated between the BCS bowls before getting a place of its own. Probably the best title game in history of college football, with USC coming in as the undisputed #1 against Vince Young’s Texas, also undefeated and a consensus #2. Vince Young ran for the winning touchdown with 8 seconds left on the clock, giving Mack Brown the national title, Texas’ first since 1970. Vince Young won the offensive MVP award, Michael Huff won the defensive.

    Image: Source

    2007 BCS National Championship Game

    January 8, 2007 – The beginning of the SEC domination, which will continue this year. It’s funny looking back at this – Ohio State were the no-brainer #1, while Florida shouldn’t have gotten a shot, with many saying Michigan, who lost to Ohio State 42-39 earlier, deserved the #2 spot. Reminds us of this year, right? The Gators went on to destroy the Buckeyes, winning 41-14 as Urban Meyer won his first national title. Tim Tebow got to play, and Chris Leak, along with Derrick Harvey, won the MVP.

    2008 BCS National Championship Game

    January 7, 2008 – Ohio State came in as a one loss team, LSU as a two loss team, the first time a two loss team played for the national title, but as favorites as well. LSU dominance continued at the Superdome, with the Tigers, under Les Miles, beating the Buckeyes 38-24, as Ohio State got trashed again despite their #1 ranking. Ohio State actually led 10-0, but LSU, like this season, got off to a slow start. Quarterback Matt Flynn and Defensive End Ricky Jean-Francois won the MVP awards.

    Image: Source

    2009 BCS National Championship Game

    January 8, 2009 – Tim Tebow was the best player in the nation by now, leading the Florida Gators to their second national title in three years. Bob Stoops and the Sooners came in as the BCS number one team, with Florida #1 in the AP poll, which got it right. The Gators won 24-14, with Tebow winning the MVP alongside Carlos Dunlap.

    Image: Source

    2010 BCS National Championship Game

    January 7, 2010 – Two 13-0 teams, Alabama back in the national spotlight under Nick Saban and Texas with Mack Brown. Once again, the SEC speed and power was just too much, as the Tide, who beat Florida to win the SEC title, steamrolled the Longhorns 37-21 in Pasadena. Mark Ingram and Marcell Dareus won the MVP awards.

    Image: Source

    2011 BCS National Championship Game

    January 10, 2011 – Auburn, coached by Gene Chizik, came in as 2 points favorites and won 22-19, with a last second field goal from Wes Byrum. Oregon managed to tie the game at 19-19 3 minutes earlier with a successful two point conversion. Michael Dyer and Nick Fairley won the MVP awards.

    Image: Source