Carlos Tevez – A Champion in Four Different Leagues

Carlos Tevez on a flag

While it might not be proof of excellence but simply of being in the right place at the right time, Carlos Tevez winning the Serie A championship with Juventus means he has now won a league title in four different leagues since becoming a pro footballer 13 years ago.

Tevez has won a championship with every club he has played for except for his short stint in East London with West Ham. His first title came during his early days in Argentina, winning the 2003 Clausura with Boca Juniors. He was also part of winning the Copa Libertadores that year.

Instead of leaving to Europe like everyone expected, Tevez joined the expensive project in Brazil with Corinthians, enjoying a fantastic debut season with the club in 2005 to claim the Campeonato Brasileiro before moving on to his next adventure.

West Ham wasn’t something that lasted, and aside from all the shady details involving those transfers, he eventually landed to play with Manchester United. Tevez won two league titles in two seasons at Old Trafford, adding a Champions League trophy as well. However, he wasn’t happy for long, and in 2009 left to join the “noisy neighbors”, Manchester City.

Tevez actually had his worst season as a professional when he finally won the championship with City in 2012 after Mancini punished him for his behavior until the very end of the season, when Tevez helped the club win a historic title with an unforgettable ending.

He joined Juventus for only £10 million and was a big hit this season, giving them the striker they’ve been missing (sort of), scoring 19 league goals to help them win a third consecutive league title, making it the fourth top league he has won a championship in.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Netherlands, Italy, Spain, France) has four countries with a championship. David Beckham (England, Spain, USA, France) is in that club as well. Wesley Sneijder with championship in the Netherlands, Spain, Italy and Turkey is in it as well. Mateja Kezman, recently retired, has won championships in five different leagues: Yugoslav, Netherlands, England, Turkey and Belarus.

Image: Source