Euro 2016 – Teams That Have Already Qualified

Image: Source
Image: Source

Euro 2016 in France will be the first to include 24 teams. We already have 20 that have qualified, including the hosts and five debutants in Wales, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Albania and Slovakia. We also have all but one former champion (Netherlands missing out): France, Spain, Germany, Italy, Russia and Czech Republic.

Albania – A first for the Albanians in any major tournament. They finished second behind Portugal in Group I, beating Denmark, Serbia and Armenia to the spot.

Austria – The Group G winners are in the tournament for only the second time, with the previous one being only on the merits of hosting it in 2008. They topped Russia, Sweden, Montenegro, Liechtenstein and Moldova.

Belgium – The fifth championship for the Belgians, who haven’t been in the Euro since 2000. They finished first in their group, ahead of Wales, Bosnia, Israel, Cyprus and Andorra.

Image: Source
Image: Source

Croatia – A fifth appearance for Croatia (fourth in a row), finishing second behind Italy in the group stage, ahead of Norway, Bulgaria, Azerbaijan and Malta.

Czech Republic – Topped group A in the qualification, ahead of Iceland, Turkey, Netherlands, Kazakhstan and Latvia. They’ll be in the tournament for a ninth time including the Czechoslovakia appearances, also winning it in 1976.

England – England finished first in their group with the perfect 10-for-10 mark, ahead of Switzerland, Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania and San Marino. It’ll be the ninth Euro for England.

France – The hosts didn’t have to go through the grueling qualification. It’ll be the ninth time for the French in the Euros, hoping to win it for a third time, following their victories in 1984 and 2000.

Image: Source
Image: Source

Germany – The World Champions and three-time Euro champions, they’ll be taking part of their 12th Euro, making all of them since 1972. They finished first in their group, ahead of Poland, Ireland, Scotland, Georgia and Gibraltar.

Iceland – One of the debutants in this tournament, after finishing second behind the Czech Republic and ahead of Turkey, Netherlands, Kazakhstan and Latvia.

Italy – The 1968 champions will be making their ninth appearance following an undefeated campaign, finishing ahead of Croatia, Norway, Bulgaria, Azerbaijan and Malta.

Northern Ireland – Debut appearance in the Euros for them after finishing first in group F, ahead of Romania, Hungary, Finland, Faroe Island and Greece.

Image: Source
Image: Source

Poland – A third consecutive Euro for Poland, finishing second behind Germany in their group, ahead of Ireland, Scotland, Georgia and Gibraltar.

Portugal – In the Euro for a seventh time (sixth in a row) after finishing first in Group I, ahead of Albania, Denmark, Serbia and Armenia.

Romania – A fifth Euro for Romania and their first since 2008. They were behind Northern Ireland in their group, but ahead of Hungary, Finland, Faroe Island and Greece.

Russia – The group G runners-up, behind Austria and ahead of Sweden, Montenegro, Liechtenstein and Moldova. Including USSR records, it’s an 11th appearance in the Euros, winning it in the inaugural championship back in 1960.

Slovakia – Debut for them following their second place finish in Group C behind Spain, although ahead of Ukraine, Belarus, Luxembourg and Macedonia.

Image: Source
Image: Source

Spain – A 10th Euro for Spain, champions in 2008, 2012 and 1964. They won nine out of 10 in a group that included Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus, Luxembourg and Macedonia.

Switzerland – Runners up in group E behind England and ahead of Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania and San Marino. It’s the fourth appearance for the Swiss, who missed out on it in 2012.

Turkey – Fourth appearance for Turkey in the Euros and first since 2008. They were the best third-placed team in the campaign, finishing behind Czech Republic and Iceland, but ahead of Netherlands, Kazakhstan and Latvia.

Wales – A first ever Euro for Wales, finishing second in Group B, behind Belgium, but ahead of Bosnia, Israel, Cyprus and Andorra.

Playoffs – Bosnia, Ukraine, Sweden, Hungary, Denmark, Ireland, Norway, Slovenia