Longest Championships Streaks in European Football Leagues

The sixth consecutive Serie A championship by Juventus is a new record in Italian football, making it a good opportunity what is the longest run of league titles across the football leagues in Europe.

Austria: The longest run of championships in the Austrian Bundesliga is 4. Red Bull Salzburg have just completed their 4th consecutive league title, finishing 15 points ahead of Austria Wien, and winning the club’s 8th championship since 2007. Austria Wien, 24-time champions, won four in a row between 1978 and 1981.

Belgium: Anderlecht, who have just captured their record 34th league title (next up are Club Brugge with 14), have a record of 5 consecutive championships in the 1960’s (1964-1968). They also own the most recent run of dominance in Belgian football, winning 3 in a row from 2012 through 2014.

Bulgaria: The current dominant power in Bulgarian football are Ludogorets Razgard, recently completing their 6th consecutive triumphant campaign. CSKA Sofia, with a record 31 league championships (last one in 2007), won 9 in a row from 1954-1962.

Armin Hodžić

Croatia: Since the split from Yugoslavia, the Croatian football league has been dominated by Dinamo Zagreb, winning 18 league titles including 11 in a row from 2006 to 2016. Their streak was broken by Rijeka this season, the club’s first league title.

Cyprus: APOEL FC have just won their 5th consecutive league title and 26th overall, the record of consecutive league titles for a Cypriot team is 6 in a row by AC Omonia, making it happen from 1974 through 1979.

Czech Republic: Since the Czechoslovakian split, the Czech league has been dominated by Sparta Prague, winning 12 league titles (and leading the league right now, en route for a 13th). Their most dominant run went from 1997 through 2001, winning 5 straight championships. 

Denmark: A rarity in European football, there has never been a team to win more than 3 consecutive championships in the Danish league, through all of its incarnations. FC Copenhagen, recently winning their 12th league title, are the most recent team to win 3 in a row (2009-2011).

Cristiano Ronaldo

England: England, like Denmark, has never seen a club win more than 3 league titles in a row, in the Premier League and before. Manchester United (2007-2009) were the last team to do it. Liverpool’s dominant run of the late 70’s and 80’s included 3 in a row (82-84).

France: Monaco winning the Ligue 1 title in 2017 prevented PSG from winning 5 championships in a row. That still wouldn’t have broken the record of 7 straight championships which belongs to Olympique Lyon, dominating the league in style from 2002 through 2008.

Germany: Bayern Munich have just won their 26th Bundesliga title, also extending their most dominant run in the local league, with a 5th consecutive championship. They, or any other club, have never won more than 3 in a row.

Greece: Olympiakos have won more league titles than anyone in Greece, 44. 19 of these championships have come in the last 21 seasons. Their current run of 7 consecutive league titles is their longest streak, and the longest one ever in Greek football.

Hungary: While it’s rare to see teams win the title back-to-back in Hungary these days, clubs like Ferencvaros, MTK Budapest and Ujpest have had long, dominant runs in the past. The record is 9 consecutive titles by MTK, from 1917 through 1925. The club also won the championship in 1914, before the league was suspended for two years because of World War I.

Israel: While Maccabi Tel-Aviv, Hapoel Tel-Aviv and Maccabi Haifa have been the most successful clubs over the course of the Israeli football league, the longest streak of championships belongs to Hapoel Petah-Tikva, winning five of their six league championships from 1959 through 1963.

Gonzalo Higuain

Italy: Juventus winning their 6th consecutive league title takes them to number 33, more than anyone in the history of Serie A. Their run of dominance began when they moved to their new stadium, which has helped give them a huge financial edge over the rest of the Italian clubs.

Netherlands: There have been several runs of clubs winning 4 championships in a row in the Dutch league, the most recent of them by Ajax from 2011 through 2014. PSV did it twice (2005-2008, 1986-1989), but the first to do it were HVV Den Haag (1900-1903), currently playing in the 7th tier of Dutch football.

Norway: Recently returning to their dominant ways, Rosenborg have 24 championships, more than any other club. Their best run was a mind blowing 13 consecutive championships, starting in 1992. After two league titles in 2015 and 2016, they’re currently leading the league, 10 matches into the 2017 season.

Poland: Gornik Zabrze hold the record for consecutive league titles, winning 5 in a row from 1963 through 1967. The club has 14 championships overall, tied with Ruch Chorzow.


Portugal: While Benfica have more championships than anyone (recently made it to 36, while Porto sit behind with 27), their rivals from the North have the longest run of consecutive titles, winning 5 in a row from 1995 to 1999.

Romania: There have been two runs of 6 consecutive championships in Romania. Steaua Bucharest won the league from 1993 through 1998, and Chinezul Timisoara, a club that no longer exists, from 1922 through 1927.

Russia: Spartak Moscow have recently clinched their first league title in 16 years and 10th overall since the formation of the Russian league. Hard to imagine it took them so long considering their 90’s dominance, winning the league in 9 out of the first 10 seasons, including 6 in a row from 1996 through 2001.

Scotland: There have been 2 runs of 9 consecutive league championships by Scottish clubs. Rangers had their most dominant period from 1989 through 1997. Celtic preceded them with 9 in a row from 1966 through 1974.

Nemanja Kojić

Serbia: Since the falling apart of Yugoslavia, Partizan Belgrade have been the dominant team, winning 16 league titles. Their best run was 6 in a row from 2008 through 2013.

Slovakia: Slovan Bratislava (8 titles) and MSK Zilina (7 titles) have been the dominant forces in the Slovakian league since 1994. Both clubs have a 3-peat; Bratislava from 1994 through 1996, Zilina from 2002 through 2004.

Slovenia: With 14 championships, Maribor have been ahead of the pack in Slovenia for the last 25 years, including an impressive run of 7 consecutive championships from 1997 through 2003, a record in the Slovenian league.

Spain: Real Madrid, who won a 33th league title just now, have two runs of 5-in-a-row. The first from 1961 through 1965, and the second in the 1980’s, from 1986 through 1990.

Sweden: No club has won the title more than 4 times in a row in Sweden. IFK Goteborg are the most recent team to mark that achievement, dominating the league from 1993 through 1996.

Seydou Doumbia

Switzerland: Grasshopper have more championships than anyone in Switzerland with 27, the last of them in 2003. However, the dominant force in Swiss football right now is Basel, winning a record 8th consecutive championship this season.

Turkey: Since the inception of the Super Lig in 1959, only one time has there been a team to win 4 consecutive championships, Fatih Terim’s Galatasaray from 1997 through 2000. 

Ukraine: While in recent years Shakhtar have been the dominant team in Ukraine, Dynamo Kyiv’s run of 9 straight championships from 1993 through 2001 is still the longest title streak since the inception of the league.

Images: Source