Peyton Manning – Loser?

Peyton Manning

Image: Source

With the XLIV Super Bowl now over, Peyton Manning, who is considered by some to be the greatest quarterback in the history of the NFL, has lost his ninth playoff game of his career, making it 9-9 for him since 1999 with one Super Bowl win. Four MVP awards, but only one championship. Here’s the history of Manning and his eight playoff losses prior to last night’s Super Bowl.

January 16, 2000 – Peyton had a fantastic second season as the Colts QB, leading Indianapolis to a 13-3 record with 4,135 passing yards and 26 TD’s. They got a first round bye and a home game against the Tennessee Titans. The Titans had Eddie George running for 168 yards and limited Manning to completing only 19 of 42 passes, limiting the Colts to only one TD, a 15 yard rushing effort from Peyton, but too late for the Colts and Manning in his playoff debut.

December 30, 2000 – Manning had another impressive season, leading the NFL in passing yards (4,413) and TD’s (33). The Colts finished with a 10-6 record, setting up a meeting with the Miami Dolphins in Florida in the Wild Card round. Manning led the Colts to a 14-0 lead at halftime including his first TD pass in his playoff career (trivia answer – Jerome Pathon). The Finals result – Miami 23, Indy 17, in overtime. Manning had another so so game, 17-32 for 194 yards and 1 TD. Mike Vaderjagt blew a chance to win the game in overtime, missing a 49 yard field goal.

January 4, 2003 – First season under Tony Dungy for Manning led to 10 regular season wins and another 4000+ yard season. The playoffs? Not so good. The Colts were crushed by the Jets in the wild card round 41-0, with Manning getting picked twice, finishing with 14-31 and 137 yards, with Chad Pennington (playoff debut) throwing for three Touchdowns on the other side.

January 18, 2004 – Manning won his first MVP award and his first two playoff games, beating the Broncos and the Chiefs before clashing with the New England Patriots in Foxborough. The end result? Patriots win 24-14, Manning threw four interceptions and got sacked four times.

January 16, 2005 – Another regular season MVP, another snow filled outing in the AFC championship game for the Colts at Foxborough, and another painful loss, Manning’s 7th at Gillette Stadium. He threw for 238 yards, but no TD’s and the Patriots killed the Colts’ running game, limiting Indianapolis to a told of 276 yards, winning the game 20-3, en route to a second consecutive Super Bowl victory.

Mike Vanderjagt

Image: Source

January 15, 2006 – 14-2 Regular season record, including finally beating the Patriots in the regular season, 40-21. The Colts got a first round bye and hosted the Pittsburgh Steelers in the divisional playoffs. Manning threw for one TD and 290 yards. Not enough, as the Steelers beat the Colts 21-18, the first #6 seed to beat a #1 seed since the 12-team playoff began in 1990. Mike Vanderjagt missed a field goal from 46 yards that would have tied the game and sent it into overtime with 17 seconds to go.

January 13, 2008 – 13-3 Regular season record leading to a first round bye and hosting the San Diego Chargers in the RCA Dome. Manning finished with 33-48, 402 yards and three touchdowns. Not enough, as the Chargers came up big on defense at the right moments, picking off Manning twice and forcing the Colts to four and out twice in the fourth quarter, winning 28-24.

Darren Sproles

Image: Source

January 3, 2009 – Manning won his third MVP regular season award, leading the Colts to a 12-4 record. It was only enough for a wild card visit to … San Diego. The outcome? 23-17, in overtime, Chargers win. Manning threw for 310 yards and one touchdown, but a huge sack by Tim Dobbins in the fourth quarter pinned the Colts at their 1 yard line, leading to a Nate Keading Field goal in the next drive, forcing overtime. The Chargers won the toss and Darren Sproles ran for a 22 yard game winning touchdown, capping off a huge 328 all-purpose yards game.