Robin Van Persie Wins Football Writers’ Player of the Year Award Too

Robin Van Persie completed the Player of the year award double, getting the Football Writers’ recognition two days after bestowed the some honor by the PFA. He is the second player in three years (Wayne Rooney in 2010) to complete the award double.

Van Persie finished ahead of Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes and Clint Dempsey on the journalists poll despite Arsenal not winning anything this year once again. But that probably had more to do with Arsene Wenger than RVP himself, who has scored 34 goals in all competitions this season.

Image: Source

In terms of history, Van Persie is the first Arsenal player to win the FWA since Thierry Henry in 2006 and the second Dutch player in the history of the Premier League to win the award, following another Arsenal legend, Dennis Bergkamp in 1998.

Van Persie also broke a streak of three consecutive season rewarding English players – Steven Gerrard (2009), Wayne Rooney (2010) and the highly controversial pick of Scott Parker, relegated with West Ham last season, in 2011. But Parker, like Harry Redknapp, is one of those media darlings who seems to be loved and appreciated no matter how well he does or doesn’t.

Van Persie was until not too long ago on pace with going over 30 goals, maybe even breaking Alan Shearer and Andy Cole’s record of 34 goals in a Premier League season, but It’s doubtful, given his current form, he’ll even make it to 30, standing on 27 league goals at the moment, 34 in all competitions.