2014 World Cup – Day 14 Results & Table

Lionel Messi

The two big stars of the day were Lionel Messi and Xherdan Shaqiri, combining to score five goals, as Argentina set themselves up for a meeting with Switzerland, as the two teams beat Nigeria and Honduras. The other qualifiers from groups E and F are France (who drew with Ecuador), meeting Nigeria next in the World Cup’s round of 16.

Nigeria 2  Argentina 3A very fun match with quickfire goals and reactions and one Lionel Messi cementing his dominance with his first brace in the tournament, tying Neymar as the top scorer of the competition. Ahmed Musa twice needed only a minute or two to equalize, but Marcos Rojo scored the winner in the 50th minute, as both teams move on to the next stage.

Bosnia 3  Iran 1Iran entered the match with a chance to make it through, but their terrible football and zero talent doesn’t deserve more matches. Bosnia at least got their debut World Cup win before going home, getting goals from Dzeko, Pjanic and Vrsajevic.

Honduras 0  Switzerland 3Honduras actually had a chance to advance, but they were terrible from the start, conceding the best goal of the World Cup so far from a fantastic Xherdan Shaqiri, finishing with a hat trick and advancing Switzerland to the round of 16, where they’ll meet Argentina.

Ecuador 0  France 0Not a bad match from Ecuador, but they were actually better after the awful Antonio Valencia was sent off for an ugly challenge on Lucas Digne. Alexander Dominguez was the busiest man on the pitch, but French strikers couldn’t find a way past him. France finish first, setting themselves up for a match with Nigeria.

Another red card (to Antonio Valencia) and another 0-0 draw. Overall we had 12 goals in four matches, as our average slightly improves to 2.93, with 129 goals in 44 matches.

Group E

Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
 France 3 2 1 0 8 2 +6 7
  Switzerland 3 2 0 1 7 6 +1 6
 Ecuador 3 1 1 1 3 3 0 4
 Honduras 3 0 0 3 1 8 −7 0

Group F

Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
 Argentina 3 3 0 0 6 3 +3 9
 Nigeria 3 1 1 1 3 3 0 4
 Bosnia and Herzegovina 3 1 0 2 4 4 0 3
 Iran 3 0 1 2 1 4 −3 1

Top Scorers

1. Neymar (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina) – 4 goals

2. Thomas Muller (Germany), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Karim Benzema (France), Enner Valencia (Ecuador), James Rodriguez (Colombia) – 3 goals

3. Tim Cahill (Australia), Mario Mandzukic (Croatia), Jackson Martinez (Colombia), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), Andre Ayew (Ghana), Clint Dempsey (United States), Memphis Depay (Netherlands), Ivan Perisic (Croatia), Wilfried Bony (Ivory Coast), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria) – 2 goals

4. Oscar (Brazil), Oribe Peralta (Mexico), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Stefan de Vrij (Netherlands), Alexis Sanchez (Chile), Jorge Valdivia (Chile), Jean Beausejour (Chile), Pablo Armero (Colombia), Teofilo Gutierrez (Colombia), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Joel Campbell (Costa Rica), Oscar Duarte (Costa Rica), Marco Urena (Costa Rica), Claudio Marchisio (Italy), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Daniel Sturridge (England), Keisuke Honda (Japan), Gervinho (Ivory Coast), Admir Mehmedi (Switzerland), Haris Seferovic (Switzerland), , Vedad Ibisevic (Bosnia), Mats Hummels (Germany), , Josh Brooks (United States), Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria), Marouane Fellaini (Belgium), Dries Mertens (Belgium), Mile Jedinak (Australia), Eduardo Vargas (Chile), Charles Aranguiz (Chile), Ivica Olic (Croatia), Juan Fernando Quintero (Colombia), Wayne Rooney (England), Bryant Ruiz (Costa Rica), Olivier Giroud (France), Blaise Matuidi (France), Mathieu Valbuena (France), Moussa Sissoko (France), Blerim Dzemaili (Switzerland), Grant Xhaka (Switzerland), Carlo Costly (Honduras), Mario Gotze (Germany), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Peter Odemwingie (Nigeria), Divock Origi (Belgium), Islam Slimani (Algeria), Rafik Halliche (Algeria), Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria), Aleksandr Kerzahkov (Russia), Lee Keun-Ho (South Korea), Son Heung-Min (South Korea), Koo Ja-cheol (South Korea), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Jermaine Jones (United States), Nani (Portugal), Silvestre Verela (Portugal), David Villa (Spain), Fernando Torres (Spain), Leroy Fer (Netherlands), Juan Mata (Spain), Fred (Brazil), Joel Matip (Cameroon), Fernandinho (Brazil), Rafa Marquez (Mexico), Andres Guardado (Mexico), Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Diego Godin (Uruguay), Juan Cuadrado (Colombia), Shinji Okazaki (Japan), Andreas Samaris (Greece), Georgios Samaras (Greece), Marcos Rojo (Argentina), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Iran), Edin Dzeko (Bosnia), Miralem Pjanic (Bosnia), Avdija Vrsajevic (Bosnia)  – 1 goal


United States vs Germany

Portugal vs Ghana

South Korea vs Belgium

Algeria vs Russia

Image: Source