2014 World Cup – Day 15 Results & Table

Cristiano Ronaldo

The group stage ended as Germany beat the United States with both teams making it out of Group G, leaving Portugal and Ghana behind, while Belgium beat South Korea to finish with a perfect record and a draw between Algeria and Russia lifted the North African team into the round of 16 for the first time.

United States 0  Germany 1A match that went on pleasantly in the rain with both teams not looking to really to hurt the chances of the other. Thomas Muller scored his fourth goal of the tournament and ninth in World Cup tournaments to give Germany the win as both teams made it into the next round.

Portugal 2  Ghana 1Cristiano Ronaldo did score but also had some hair-raising misses in another bad performance for the Real Madrid star, as both teams went home. Portugal took the lead through an own goal by John Boye. Ghana equalized with a brilliant finish by Asamoah Gyan off a great assist from Kwadwo Asamoah, but finished with only one point in three matches.

Algeria 1  Russia 1Russia took the lead that would have brought them to the round of 16 thanks to an early goal from Aleksandr Kokorin in the sixth minute, but Russia didn’t take care of their chances in the first half and in the early parts of the second one. Algeria equalized through another mistake by Igor Akinfeev, this time from Islam Slimani and defeded well until the end, making it into the next stage for the first time.

South Korea 0  Belgium 1Despite losing Steven Defour to a red card just before half time, they finished with their third win and a perfect record, getting a winner from Jan Vertonghen to make it back into the round of 16 for the first time since 2002.

Not a day of goals, with another red card which is becoming quite common in recent days, this time to Steven Defour of Belgium. Only seven goals in four matches brings us to 136 goals in 48 matches, an average of 2.83 goals per match.

Group G

Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
 Germany 3 2 1 0 7 2 +5 7
 United States 3 1 1 1 4 4 0 4
 Portugal 3 1 1 1 4 7 −3 4
 Ghana 3 0 1 2 4 6 −2 1

Group H

Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
 Belgium 3 3 0 0 4 1 +3 9
 Algeria 3 1 1 1 6 5 +1 4
 Russia 3 0 2 1 2 3 −1 2
 South Korea 3 0 1 2 3 6 −3 1

Top Scorers

1. Neymar (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Muller (Germany) – 4 goals

2. Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Karim Benzema (France), Enner Valencia (Ecuador), James Rodriguez (Colombia) – 3 goals

3. Tim Cahill (Australia), Mario Mandzukic (Croatia), Jackson Martinez (Colombia), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), Andre Ayew (Ghana), Clint Dempsey (United States), Memphis Depay (Netherlands), Ivan Perisic (Croatia), Wilfried Bony (Ivory Coast), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Islam Slimani (Algeria) – 2 goals

4. Oscar (Brazil), Oribe Peralta (Mexico), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Stefan de Vrij (Netherlands), Alexis Sanchez (Chile), Jorge Valdivia (Chile), Jean Beausejour (Chile), Pablo Armero (Colombia), Teofilo Gutierrez (Colombia), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Joel Campbell (Costa Rica), Oscar Duarte (Costa Rica), Marco Urena (Costa Rica), Claudio Marchisio (Italy), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Daniel Sturridge (England), Keisuke Honda (Japan), Gervinho (Ivory Coast), Admir Mehmedi (Switzerland), Haris Seferovic (Switzerland), , Vedad Ibisevic (Bosnia), Mats Hummels (Germany), , Josh Brooks (United States), Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria), Marouane Fellaini (Belgium), Dries Mertens (Belgium), Mile Jedinak (Australia), Eduardo Vargas (Chile), Charles Aranguiz (Chile), Ivica Olic (Croatia), Juan Fernando Quintero (Colombia), Wayne Rooney (England), Bryant Ruiz (Costa Rica), Olivier Giroud(France), Blaise Matuidi (France), Mathieu Valbuena (France), Moussa Sissoko (France), Blerim Dzemaili (Switzerland), Grant Xhaka (Switzerland), Carlo Costly (Honduras), Mario Gotze (Germany), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Peter Odemwingie (Nigeria), Divock Origi (Belgium), Rafik Halliche (Algeria), Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria), Aleksandr Kerzahkov (Russia), Lee Keun-Ho (South Korea), Son Heung-Min (South Korea), Koo Ja-cheol (South Korea), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Jermaine Jones (United States), Nani (Portugal), Silvestre Verela (Portugal), David Villa (Spain), Fernando Torres (Spain), Leroy Fer (Netherlands), Juan Mata (Spain), Fred (Brazil), Joel Matip (Cameroon), Fernandinho (Brazil), Rafa Marquez (Mexico), Andres Guardado (Mexico), Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Diego Godin (Uruguay), Juan Cuadrado (Colombia), Shinji Okazaki (Japan), Andreas Samaris (Greece), Georgios Samaras (Greece), Marcos Rojo (Argentina), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Iran), Edin Dzeko (Bosnia), Miralem Pjanic (Bosnia), Avdija Vrsajevic (Bosnia), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Aleksandr Kokorin (Russia), Jan Vertonghen (Belgium)  – 1 goal

Round of 16

Brazil vs Chile (June 28)

Colombia vs Uruguay (June 28)

Netherlands vs Mexico (June 29)

Costa Rica vs Greece (June 29)

France vs Nigeria (June 30)

Germany vs Algeria (June 30)

Argentina vs Switzerland (July 1)

Belgium vs United States (July 1)

Image: Source